SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

The Town Council of the Town of Weber City met in a special called meeting at <u>7:00 p.m. on Thursday, May 25, 2023</u>. The meeting was held in the assembly room of the Weber City Town Hall.

PRESENT:

Mayor:	Chris Powers
Council Member:	Eileen Deckard
Council Member:	Derek Pearcy
Council Member:	Teresa Tilson
Council Member:	Zackary Salyer

ABSENT:

Vice Mayor:	Justin Addington
Town Attorney:	Michael Carrico
Council Member:	Greg Smith

Mayor Chris Powers called the special called meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Prayer led by **Eileen Deckard**, the Pledge of Allegiance led by **Mayor Chris Powers**. The purpose of the meeting was a Budget Workshop for the Council Members pursuant to Virginia Code 15.2-1417 & 1418

CLOSED SESSION

A motion to enter **INTO** Closed Session to discuss personnel and legal issues as they pertain to the budget, made by <u>Teresa Tilson</u>, Council member. Seconded by <u>Zack</u> <u>Salyer</u>, Council member.

Motion passed with <u>4</u> voting AYE, <u>0</u> voting NAY, <u>2</u> ABSENT, <u>0</u> Abstentions

A motion to go **OUT** of Closed Session and back into Regular Session was made by <u>Zackary Salyer</u>, and seconded by <u>Teresa Tilson</u>. Motion passed with: <u>4</u> voting AYES, <u>0</u> voting NAY, <u>2</u> Absent and <u>0</u> Abstentions

CERTIFICATE OF CLOSED SESSION

The Mayor, Council Members, and the Town's Attorney entered into Closed Session.

A motion to certify that only lawfully exempt matters, for which the closed meeting was convened, were heard, discussed, or considered in the meeting by the Mayor and Council members, was made by <u>Teresa Tilson</u>, Council member, seconded by <u>Zackary Salyer</u>, Council member, and roll call vote made with these members voting "AYE" were:

Eileen Deckard, Derek Pearcy, Teresa Tilson, and Zackary Salyer.

Voting "NAY" were: <u>none</u>, with <u>2</u> Absent

Action of the Closed Session:

No actions took place due to the Workshop format of the meeting.

ADJOURNMENT:

A motion to adjourn was made by **<u>Teresa Tilson</u>**, seconded by **<u>Eileen Deckard</u>**

Motion passed with <u>4</u> voting AYE, <u>0</u> voting NAY, <u>2</u> ABSENT, <u>0</u> Abstentions

Mayor – Christopher J. Powers

Town Clerk – Penney C. Capps